top of page

REVIEW of Dopey Women by Laura Barnard


Oh my gosh! Let me start by saying I loved this book!! The story just flowed from start to finish and I was so engrossed in it that I had to read it in one sitting. Sadie is down on her luck. She has just been made redundant after 10 years at her job. She is in the job search office when she bumps into Mags, Lexi and Steph (all old work colleagues). Over a cup of coffee they catch up and each has their own sad story to tell since they lost their jobs. Mags not only lost her husband, but she also has cancer. Lexi lives with her abusive boyfriend and Steph is not a single mother after her boyfriend did a runner. There 4 women find themselves in the drug business as a means of not only making money to live, but also to help cancer patients but this draws the attention of not only the police but also a big bad drug dealer. Sadie finds herself in love with a police officer. The police officer in charge of arresting her no less. This story will make you laugh, cry and even cringe but it is so worth it. The ending is not what I seen coming but oh my did I love it. I really hope we get more books about these women and how their lives turn out.


bottom of page